Home » artist » Kanye West Talks Being ‘Nervous’ to Propose to Kim Kardashian, Wedding Planning, and Raising North

Kanye West Talks Being ‘Nervous’ to Propose to Kim Kardashian, Wedding Planning, and Raising North

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,871 other followers

Calender

October 2013
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

SHOP

VIA KIISFM:

Kanye West stopped by On Air with Ryan Seacrest to talk about everything from  what inspires him, why he feels that he’s being held back in life, and his  engagement and upcoming marriage to Kim Kardashian.
The 36-year-old  rapper and designer gushed over his fiancée, revealing that he’s wanted to marry  her for quite some time. Kanye proposed to Kim a week ago on her birthday at  AT&T Park in San Francisco in front of family and friends with a 15-carat  diamond ring and admits he was actually nervous to pop the question.

Aside from asking for Kris Jenner’s permission, how did you keep it all  a secret?
“I just didn’t tell anybody. Everybody that came in just  thought it was a surprise party. So of course I didn’t tell her that anybody was  coming in and she knew I was going to do something for her birthday, so as soon  as she heard the Lana [Del Ray] song playing, she just figured I was going to  have Lana sing and we were going to have dinner. Because at a certain point she  just knows I’m going to do something turnt up, so she was expecting something  awesome. The guy who organized it was talking about this romantic lighting and I  was like, ‘Enough already! We’re at a baseball field. It has to be fully-lit!’ That was one of the things that was making me really mad. I was like, ‘Let me do  it, like how I would do it.’”

Will you wear a wedding ring once  you’re married?
“Yes.”

Will Kim take your last  name?
“Yes.”

How  involved will you be with the wedding planning?
“I will be  very involved. Or I want to pick who is going to be in charge. I’d like to get  the people who do the Chanel shows [for the wedding].”

How long  does it take to conceive a show and perfect it?
“It takes a lifetime  really because you pull from your gut. I coined this term ‘emotionalism’ and  it’s if your about to die and your life flashed before your eyes, what would you  see? And you pull from that. Create from that place. So if I was 3-years-old,  I’d see a mountain. I’d see Jesus. I’d see a monster. I’d see these girls, like  a cool super hero in a mask or something like that, and that’s what I’d want to  do. Glow In The Dark [tour] was also just tapping into my childhood and just  creating from that place, but the process of it [takes] like five  months.”

Do you consider yourself a  perfectionist?
“I’m not a perfectionist anymore because I’ve  realized that it’s all practice. Could you say the Air Jordan 1′s were perfect?  There was no way to make them perfect because there is nothing we can make in  our lifetime perfect. God is the only [force] … that can make things perfect. As  men, we can’t make things perfect … You’re in constant practice. So say like an  album, like Yeezus, that’s like a listening session to the world like, ‘Hey,  what do you guys think of this?’”

What do you make of people  having different interpretations of your songs?
“People can take  things how they want to, it’s just realizing you can’t control the way people  take things … You’ve just got to express exactly what you want. I know that I  have good intent. I have a high skill set and I just make it and if enough  people like it for me to be successful at it.”

On why he has to turn things up because people don’t allow him to go to  the next level:
“When you say stuff like, ‘I’m a creative genius,’ everyone looks at you like you’re crazy. So I’m like, ‘Okay, I’m about to turn  up. I’m going to turn up on this engagement. I’m going to turn up on this show.  I’m going to turn up on this merch we just did with this pop-up store on  Melrose.’ I just had to turn up completely because I’ve been trying to create  outside of the box of being a musician … and I’ve talked to people who would  have the power to allow me to go to the next level and they just look at you  like you’re crazy or they just try to put you in like a music box and at what  point do you see something and say, ‘Yo, he really might be like Walt Disney. He  really might be that creative and not just a rapper.’”

“Like I went  anti-hit song on the … Yeezus album. I know how to write … hit songs, but I’m  not interested in that particularly. I’m interested in design and helping the  world. My company Donda is a product, content, and experience company. You go to  my show and that’s an experience. A product could be the Nikes. You remember I  was bringing in the Louis Vuittons, that was a one time thing. They never let me  create again. And if you’re creative, to create is your oxygen. Beause people  could look and say, ‘You’ve got a car. You’ve got this. You’ve got a family.  You’ve got that.’ And yes, I feel very blessed to have a family and a career  that affords me a nice lifestyle, but I have more to give to the world, meaning  when I wanted to rap and no one wanted to sign me and I had ‘Jesus Walks,’ I had  more to give to the world.”

“What if 2 Chainz did 116 and they said, ‘That was really dope, [but] no more.’ 2 Chainz did 100 verses in one year … but  what if he’d been told one and that’s enough? … What if you’re Gaudí and you  know you’re the best architect and everyone is saying that you’re saying you’re  the best architect the wrong way. The problem isn’t whether or not you are the  best – it’s the way you’re saying it. People get really hung up on the way I  word things. But I am the best. That’s the bottom line.”

“So I had to  turn it up to this level because they look at you like you’re crazy. Like when I  [went] up onstage [during Taylor Swift’s acceptance speech at the 2009 MTV Video  Music Awards] and I do whatever. I’m looking like, ‘Am I the only one here  that’s not crazy?’ There still hasn’t been a better video … than a Beyoncé  video. And that’s what people hated me the most for. The perception — ‘This  doesn’t look good. That doesn’t look good.’ — But I’m not here to try to be the  most likeable guy on the planet. I’m here to make things easier for people with  the creativity I have.”

Where does that drive and burning fire come from?
“God. God  has blessed me and has given me a strength and he’s given me a focus — family -— and to spread the word. And that’s the way I want to create. I want to design  churches. I want to use everything I did to design Watch the Throne to design  new churches.”

Do you care it would be  controversial?
“That’s not my concern. My concern is doing God’s  work and he’ll work everything else out.”

Do you think you will  pull back on certain lyrics and things because you’re a dad now?
“I  haven’t been a dad before so I can answer that question better when I’m closer  to that moment. I don’t strategize like that. There are so many moving pieces  right now. It’s like when you had grandparents that weren’t ready for TV and now  it’s like parents that aren’t ready for the internet. So if we are where we are  at right now, where will we be four years from now? There wasn’t even Instagram  two years ago, so I couldn’t really give you that answer because I don’t know  exactly what other things or forces are going to be working at that time. They  could have cursing at the schools at that time … you never know what it’s going  to be!”

Of your projects, which has been your favorite?
“Maybe My  Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The way we made that. We stayed down in Hawaii  and [everyone like Nicki Minaj, Elton John, and more] came down there and we  just worked on it for a long, long time. And what it was, if we’re talking about  being a perfectionist, I’m not here to really try to attempt to do perfect work,  I’d rather challenge people with things that are imperfect … but because of the  perception I was under after the Taylor Swift incident, the only way for me to  somehow buy my affection of the public back, was to deliver an absolutely  perfected product. So if you listen to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, that’s  the closest thing to a perfected album. So it’s like, I know how to make  perfection, I just don’t want to. I want to rip the jeans!”

Did  you ever apologize to Taylor Swift?
“I talked to her right before  she was going to do a song based on it [and] I tried to get her on the phone  [right after] and they wouldn’t get her on the phone and we were trying to do  all this Oprah stuff because it’s all this media blitz with the perception like, ‘Oh my god! Your career is over.’ … You know what? I would not want some crazy  drunk rockstar cutting my daughter off also. But, my daughter would 100% also be  like, ‘Yes, Beyoncé did have the best video.’ That’s what my daughter would  do!”

You mentioned you have four or five main projects currently  going on, so do you get bored easily?
“I get frustrated before I get  bored.”

How do you work through the  frustration?
“Just drink! I’m sure I’m not supposed to say that, but  I drink Grey Goose. And I’m not getting paid anything from them, but I’m going  to tell you as a man – and they said Shakespeare was like a drunk and yes, I  said that to blatantly compare myself to Shakespeare – you know, I’m not  perfect. And certain mornings or in the evening, and I’m not a falling over  drunk, but I’ll pour a little Goose, grab some ice cubes, and just practice  patience.”

On what frustrates him:
“People say, ‘Life  isn’t fair. What are you complaining about?’ [But] it’s not fair that I dont  have infrastructure for what I want to to do in clothing because I’m crazy  influential. Meaning, like, there’s no way for it to not work. When we do  t-shirts, we do $200,000 in five hours, it works, but it’s a wall … It’s the  Michael Jackson glass ceiling when he couldn’t get his videos played because he  was considered to be urban. Now for me, what I want to create isn’t about black  and white, but the reason why I’m not able to create what I want to create is  about being black and is about classism. And that’s that wall when I took [Kim]  to the Met Ball and they put it up on Vogue.com and tried to say she wasn’t  there because they didn’t want a reality show girl there.

“Or like with  the Hollywood Walk of Fame … it’s not the walk of singing … it’s the Walk of  Fame … and classism has been going on before racism. We’re classist. We have our  cool table … and there’s no way Kim Kardashian shouldn’t be on the cover of  Vogue. She’s like the most intriguing woman right now. She’s got Barbara Walters  calling her like everyday … and collectively we’re the most influential with  clothing. No one is looking at what [President] Obama is wearing. Michelle Obama  cannot Instagram a [bikini] pic like what my girl Instagrammed the other day… so  it’s to say when we are there and [editor-in-chief of French Vogue] Carine  Roitfeld supports my girl, that’s a breakthrough … there’s a wall of classism  that we are breaking through.”

Will you support your daughter North West if she wants to be in this  industry?
“I’m going to support her in whatever she wants to do. I  mean, if she wants to be an axe murder, then I’m not going to support  that.”

But there are parts of fame you don’t like, like the  paparazzi?
“What I needed to realize is that’s a blessing also.  People can say fame is a curse and fame is a drug, but it’s learning how to  handle that drug and how to handle the high. A lot of people  … crash and  burn and … having someone to hold onto really helps a lot. Having someone who  you can talk to and doesn’t want you just for your money or to be famous … Kim  is definitely not around me to be famous and I’m not around her to be. I’m  around her because she’s awesome and she looks amazing and she’s a sweet person … It’s an unfair level of awesomeness in one person to be that smart, to be that  nice to be … blatantly fine as hell. Like, one of the most beautiful people of  all time. She’s not hard to wake up to.”

183222713jf00023-dream-for

Leave a Reply

Contact

770-846-6039
8am - 8pm

INSTAGRAM

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

